In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

There are three aspects that are necessary to live life comfortably and happily and that are food, shelter, and clothes. Everyone dreams of owning his/her house. However, in the last few decades the scenario about housing has changed a lot as in few countries people like to rent an apartment or a house instead of buying it. There are several benefits and downsides and this essay will discuss both of them.

Real estate prices have risen to a huge level in past decades. To begin with, the first and foremost advantage is renting a home is more affordable than buying it as it requires less investment, unlike buying a home that needs huge investment. Moreover, renting permits the tenant to reside in a high-class society where it is very difficult to buy a house as it might cost a lump sum. Apart from this, it is best option for the people who have frequently changing employment locations. The person can change him home with a one-month advance notice to the owner. For instance, in the survey done by The Toronto University, it came into the notice that around 87 percent of the people migrate from India in search of job and study and has settled in a rented apartment for the short span of time.

However, renting has various limitations. Even though a person pays money in advance in the form of rent, it does not transfer legal ownership to the tenant and therefore such payment would be an expense instead of an investment. Moreover, rented property has a temporary contract which means one cannot alter the property as per the need and interest as he has to abide by the rule. Furthermore, any damage done to the property may become a liability of the tenant. Hence, this can impose limits on the freedom of a person.

To conclude, the residential preference of people has changed a lot these days. Most of the people are likely to rent a house rather than owning one in some countries. This time of the house is equipped with various privileges, however, it also has some downsides.