In some countries, people are purchasing fewer new items and more second hand goods. What are the reasons and is this a positive and negative trend?

Indubitably, globalization has lead to paradigm shift n purchasing power of people. In this contemporary era, individuals are extremely interested to buy second hand things instead of brand new. Apparently, there are prominent reasons that significantly contribute to this phenomenon. However, I find this trend constructive.

Fundamentally, the predominant factors that evidently trigger it can be observed. First and foremost, an exponential rise in global inflation have substantially contributed t prolific increase in prices of products resultantly people lacks the affordability to buy any new item. Seemingly, high prices have lead to lower consumption of brand new products. Secondly, a second hand item efficiently fulfills the need of customers within the budget of a person. Although some issues can be faced in a used product, in terms of money it act as a key influencing factor to save one's hard earned money. According to BBC, a recent study revealed that 60% of people vehemently deems that used products are cheaper and saves their money. Thirdly, Is buying a used product a positive trend? Certainly Yes! In this modern epoch, needs of people are highly dynamic. Investing a chunk of money on a product just for a short period of time can lead to dismal consequences of financial burden.

Nevertheless, in my contention, it is an applauding trend for myriad reasons. Chiefly, despite affluent people who can buy new things, second hand things cater the needs of them who are incapable of purchasing new things. Consequently, it will inclusively contribute to status equality in terms of things among the society. Moreover, money is of paramount significance in this modern era. If people can save their residual income by buying cheaper products it can lead to prolific increase in their savings resulting in sound financial management. To corroborate, children who purchase second hand books have cleverly eradicated the burden of expenses on their parents. In addition to this, people can reap the benefits of high quality things. Even though, many other chief quality products are available, branded products even if used are considered more reliable and durable.

Suffice to say, the world has witnessed several revolutionary changes being the inclination of people towards used thing the most prominent. The probable causes of this universal phenomenon are low income levels and higher cost but it proves to be favourable as it saves money and promotes status equality among people.