in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In a few nations, it is becoming common for young people to take a year off to work or travel after high school and before joining the university. The main benefit of this trend is that they can gain some experience and get admission in top universities and the major drawback is that it can effect their grades in college.

When students work or travel after high school they can get enrolled themselves in the best universities because of their one-year experience. In other words, some universities such as Harvard University and Princeton College prefer students with some work experience. Therefore, students can be selected in these colleges easily because they have additional a year's experience than the other students. For example, a report published by the New York Times suggested that 60% of students selected in top universities in the UK were those who have taken a gap year after high school.

The major disadvantage of this approach is that they might get low scores in their academics because they can be distracted from studies. That is to say that, when students rejoin college after a long break it can be difficult for them to concentrate on studies. As a result, it can effect their academic performance, and they may get low grades. For instance, according to a recent survey by the Guardian 30% of students who join college after a gap year got lower scores than other students who did not take a year off.

In conclusion, taking a gap year is beneficial because students can get admission to the best universities due to their experience. However, lower grades and poor academic performance is a major drawback.