Some educational systems make students study specialized subjects from the age of fifteen while others require students to study a wide range.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is a widely held belief that from the high school, only specialised subjects should be taught to students, but there is a strong counter argument amongst sections of people that students should select wide range of subjects. However, I am of the opinion that this is a matter to be debated in light of several factors before reasonable conclusion can be drawn.

The first and foremost reason is that wide variety of subjects during higher education help students to develop variety of skills. In other words, subjects like arts, music, physical fitness and so on improve children creativity, thinking and physical as well as mental fitness. Eventually, it improves social and inter-personal skills in students.

The second worth mentioning reason here is that students choose their future job according to their interest. Since there are more subjects in school, they will find their favorite subject at young age and follow their passion and interest afterwards. For example, a recent survey conducted by an eminent educationist David Morey at oxford university revealed that students, who choose their favorite subjects during high school, 70 % performs better in university than other students.

On contrary, there are certain group of people who vehemently believe that specialized subjects help student in terms of employment. In other words, if students learn STEM subjects at high school, they do not require to learn basic details in tertiary education. Therefore, student can focus on practical aspect of subjects during university and, so after graduation students will be ready for job without training.

After analyzing both the views, I am of the opinion that although specialized subject is crucial in terms of lucrative job opportunities, students must select wide variety of subject during their young age because this will result in holistic development of children.