Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

While numerous employers believe in the social skillset of job applicants, others are in favor of their academic qualifications. I personally side with the latter group of peoples' opinion.

On the one hand, several organizations consider social skills as a paramount factor for a person to apply for a job. Perhaps the main argument against this idea is that in any profession, social skills such as communication or dealing with different personalities are of significant importance. For instance, If an individual knows how to tackle the different sorts of behaviours of one's peers, one might be able to do a job with good harmony. Further, such people would outperform during pressurised situations, unforeseen scenarios and tight deadlines. However, as mentioned earlier social skills are crucial, but not the only key factor for a vacancy and academic qualifications are the fundamental aspect of a job applicant.

At the same time, I personally support those who are in favor of academic credentials. The main reason to support this idea is that for any sort of job, one must possess the extensive theoretical knowledge of the specific field. This is to say that during educational tenure people grasp the detailed knowledge of the subject which is, in turn, of a dire help during a job. Therefore, I believe educational qualifications play a pivotal role in any job. For instance, social skills are not as important as medical knowledge is vital for a doctor to see a patient. Similarly, for the position of a developer, programming is the core requirement despite social skillset. So, we can say field related study is a must for all job aspirants.

In conclusion, although manifold employers support the view to find social skills in job seekers, I believe academics are imperative for a job.