Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Other however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many argue that death penalty ought to be inactive. In the same time, others claim that it has to be used for crimes of serious nature. This essay will discuss both views and also shall point out the importance of having the death penalty in the justice system.

One the one hand, people opposing the use of death penalty sees that it is harmful to the society in many ways. To begin with, innocent people could be wrongly convicted and executed due to a mistake during investigations. If such mistake was found after the execution, there is no way to rectify it. In addition, in-spite of the application of capital punishment, crimes rates are necessarily decreasing. For example, a recent government report revealed information that crimes rates percentages are almost the same compared to last year. Furthermore, death penalty application creates a violent culture and encourages revenge. For instance, there is a case of 12 years old boy who electrified his cat after witnessing an execution of a criminal by an electric chair.

On the other hand, supporters of capital punishment say that it deter crimes and provides relief for those in hurt. To elaborate on this, applying death penalty sends a message to all people to think about the consequences of their actions as fear of death stop many people from committing offences. Also, it sends a message to the victim’s relatives and close ones that justice is served under any circumstances. Thus, increase their faith in the system. For example, a recent research showed that the terrorist attacks on Egypt has decreased significantly after the execution of two terrorists who played a major role in the recent terrorists’ attacks. Furthermore, applying the death penalty reduces the cost of imprisonment. Accordingly, government expenditure allocated for this issue can be redirected to other projects that may benefit the whole society.

To conclude, although death penalty application raises red flags when it comes to prosecution procedures and creating a violent culture, it is a fact that capital punishment has more benefits to the society in terms of preventing crimes from taking place, reducing imprisonment costs, and creating financial resources for other projects.