Some people believe that children are given too much free time, they feel that this time should be spent on doing more school work.

How do you think children should spend their free time?

There is no denying the fact that children are future rein-bearer of a country, therefore proper care should be taken in their upbringing. Being free after school time, children are suggested to do more school work by some people. However, I believe that this time should be spent on extra-curriculum activities which can ensure holistic development of a child.

To begin with, in many countries, people give emphasis to studies only and keep their children busy in doing school work, taking extra classes and to do self-study to understand what they taught in the school. They look only one direction of life and want to make their kids engineer, doctors or scientists. For instance, this trend is quite popular in India, where children are supposed to dream about only academic achievements. However, this practice makes the students bookworm and does not let them show their hidden talent and excel in it. Therefore, students should be encouraged to take part in their favorite leisure time activity.

For the physical and mental development of a child, extra-curriculum activities are really necessary. In the evening when students have free time for their own, then they can get training of some physical sports which can really help them to keep themselves physically fit and healthy. For instance, many children have a keen interest in swimming, so by enrolling them in swimming classes, a child not only relish his favorite activity, but it also helps him to be active and physically sound. Furthermore, many kids may have an interest in other activities like singing, dancing or painting. By spending time excelling in their hidden talent, many people can opt it as their profession and can earn name and fame worldwide.

To conclude, this is the time to understand that apart from formal education, there are many other things which need focus of parents for the betterment of their children. Therefore, after school time, youngsters should be motivated to opt activities of their interest.