Some people believe that it is better to keep criminals in prison for longer, while others disagree and say that we must find a different solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Surveys depict an increased ratio of crime in many countries. Some intellectuals assert that criminals should get long imprisonment whereas others argue to find other solutions for the betterment of the society. I strongly believe in providing humane treatment in favor of reducing criminal activities in the world.

It is rightly said that no one is born criminal. There are circumstances behind the birth of any crime and criminal. So, the criminals should be kept in the rehabilitation center where their circumstances can be understood by experts to provide them best solution to overcome from it. For instance, sometimes psychological disorders would be accountable for any offense which can be identified and cured. Moreover, skill centers can be developed where prisoners can learn new skills to leave criminal activity and to live the graceful life. For example, the central jail of Ahmedabad, Prisoners are learning skills of carpentry, cooking, arts and so on. At last, disconnect from the outer world may increase their anxiety which can enforce negativity in them. So, development center with the open environment can be the good solution in order to reduce the criminal thoughts from the prisoner’s mind.

On the other hand, many criminals are very harmful to the society that requires strict punishment owing to restrict the repetitive offenses. For example, drugs suppliers, forterrorist are the threto the society. Secondly, some criminals are so powerful that they can operate their activity by sitting in prison if they are not disconnected for long tenure.For example, there are a number of incidents happened in the world when mafias and underworld have such strong network that they can execute their awful activities by sitting in jails as well. Finally, criminals who are not the victim of circumstances but involved in a crime purposefully are difficult to reform. So, sometimes long term imprisonment can only be the solution left with the legislation.

To conclude, long-term captivity can never be the solution for all type of criminals to get developed. I strongly believe that crime ratio can be reduced with the supply of care and development in place of strict imprisonment.