Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.
Someone has rightly said that – “The car has become an article of dress without which we
feel uncertain, unclad, and incomplete”. In my opinion, the advantages of the car outstrip its
disadvantages.
There are many advantages of car. The most important advantage is that it has given people
freedom of movement. The ease of transportation which a car brings is more than any other
form of transportation. For instance, you can go from destination to destination and no time
is wasted waiting for the bus or train. Therefore, time and distance are not a barrier any
more. What is more, families can go out together. This becomes especially helpful when
there are elderly or the disabled and sick members in the family.
Furthermore, the automobile industry provides jobs to millions of workers. Filling stations,
restaurants, and other businesses that serve automobile travelers are of major importance
to a country’s economy. In addition, many developing nations have begun making
automobiles to boost their economy. That is why India has promoted many automobile
manufacturing industries such as Tata and Mahindra.
On the other hand the disadvantages of the car cannot be overlooked. The increase in
pollution, traffic jams and accidents are the natural sequelae to the burgeoning population
of cars. Moreover, our overdependence on cars can lead to decrease in practices such as
walking and cycling and this has led to a number of diseases such as obesity.
On balance, the advantages to people’s lives and the economic impact created by the car
definitely outweigh the disadvantages. However, we must know when and how-much to use
the car so that we can minimize the demerits to some extent.