Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Agree or disagree?

For an average person, more than one third of his/her life is spent on education. Without education, people's life become more chaotic and hard to develop over time. That's being said, some people suggest that a person spend all his educational life learning only theoritical information apart from concentrating to the pratical side. In my view, I am totally against this and I believe that education involves alot of practical aspects.

In fact, through somebody's educational journey, especially during high school and university level, there are many hands-on laboratories that need to be passed in order to achieve the degree. A laboratory usually is an industry inspired mini project that is performed in a place full of tools which mimics the real world industry tools. Even for the majors that does not require physical tools such as software engineering, still students accomplish tutorials that are extremely similar to the real industry level work. For example, for software development engineers, there are some pratical labs that require to use several tools to code a web application and deploy it to a stand alone server. Not only these tools are utilized by the local companies, but it also used by world leading companies such as Oracle and Microsoft. Therefore, labs teaches students enough practical skills to be ready for any future job.

If you asked any university student about the most challenging part of any course, he or she will explain that assignments and projects are definitely the bottle neck. For any well developed course, a group of solid assignments and an industry level project should be implemented to pass the course. Although sudents struggle in figuring out how to solve these assignments within time limitation, it forces them to feel the pressure that an employee faces in pratical life. I remember one of the projects that I colloborated with a collegue to finish was on developing an online exam system that could serve thousands of students at once. We were put into the situation that we must review some company's standards and follow the listed instruction particularly to accomplish our ultimate target. It was a legit project that have been fortuantely adopted by the university technology center.

I think that through school life, a person learn both theoritical and practical skills equally. Not only tutorials that is conducted every week, but also the neccessary assignments and projects are all contribute to polish the practical side. Everyone should balance between these skills bacause life needs them.