Some people say that health care should be the responsibility of the government but others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Owing to the health-related issues some reckoned that should government should actively play a role in ensuring a healthy lifestyle, rather, others believe that it is individuals' sole decision how they should live. As far as my opinion is concerned, I believe that health is basically individual responsibility, even though there are lots of things that the government can do to promote a healthy lifestyle as the health of citizens is paramount.

The government should make laws to ban things that are detrimental to the health of the people. The junk food contributes, in no small measure, to deteriorate an individual's health hence, the government should impose a heavy tax on such foods in order to decrease their consumption. Additionally, intake of any kind of drug should be banned and this move will find consonance with the rest of the world where several nations, also harshly banned these drugs. For instance, the government of Gujrat had legally banned the consumption of alcohol for many years. The government should deploy regulation for mandatory vaccinations, which can save millions of children from the clutches of diseases and death.

While saying, health is very much individual matter means that the government cannot monitor the lifestyle of every citizen. Even after knowing the consequences of eating junk food and spending a huge amount of time in front of the television and computer, they are too lazy and ignorant to change their sedentary lifestyle. Apart from this, the busy schedules of office in the other basic reason behind the ignorance of people toward their personal lifestyle. In such a case, the government cannot help.

To conclude, the government can take certain measures to ensure the health of their people, however, it cannot alone create a healthy society, hence, an individual need to make conscious efforts to.