Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

It is thought by some people that we should know at least one second language, except our native. That’s why foreign language is essential in high schools and universities curriculums, despite the fact the pupils or students may stay in Ukraine in the future. Moreover, in my country children start to learn English or German languages from the very young age. In my humble opinion, such practice only benefits us.

First of all, people ought to remember that a lot of decent job positions require a particular language knowledge. There are companies in my country that cooperate with different associations from any part of the world. To give a clear example, the “Arcellor Mitall” manufacturing is located in Kriviy Rih city. There is mandatory intermediate English even for a fitter position!

There is also a bunch of other advantages, such as ability to watch movies in original language without translation. I think that films interpretations distract our attention from many important things in movie. Buy the way, I can hear a lot of translation mistakes, while I’m watching TV.

In addition, I would like to say that English and French music are very popular in my country. It seems funny that people like to listen to the music and don’t understand a lyrics of a song.

In conclusion, I want to say that even if you don’t want to travel abroad, to work in foreign country you need to learn at least one second language. We need to fill free spaces of our brain in order to comprehend something new. Psychologists like to say “to do a mind training”. Such practice will only benefit our health and it’s necessary for every one of us.