Some people think that economic growth is the key to end poverty and hunger, while some believes that progress in an economy can harm the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economic development seems to be an effective way to eradicate the problems of poverty and hunger in the present world. However, I would argue that environment should not be put into a threat for the purpose of financial growth. This essay will discuss both of these views.

To begin with, developing the economy by establishing the industries will help to encounter the issue of poverty and hunger. More and more industries means, it will create enormous job opportunities for the unemployed people. Not only this but also the government will be able to collect more money as taxes from these companies. So the money can be used to supply food for the people who will be out of work and the basic needs of the poor people could be fulfilled as well.

On the other hand, establishing many industries will obviously increase the problems of environmental issues. Can we avoid this point for the sake of eradicating poverty and hunger? First of all, the exhaust from the industries will obviously pollute the air. In order to build more industries, more and more trees need to be cut down. As a result, the amount of Carbon-di-oxide will be increased which may lead to another major problem- global warming. The chemicals and wastes from these industries will also polluter water and land.

But these environmental problems could be controlled by successful efforts of the government, such as making pollution related norms strict, shutting down only those industries which are generating more pollution. Funds for the research and development programs related to this field should be increased.

In conclusion, although industrial growth is important for the sake of employment opportunities which will help to reduce poverty and hunger, the environmental issues should not be neglected. I believe that if government can take proper steps, the environment will be saved.