Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some are of the viewpoint that curbing criminal activities is the sole responsibility of the government, others are of the belief that each person should be responsible for their safety and protection. In my viewpoint, the government has a greater responsibility to keep a check on criminal acts by enforcing strict laws. Having said that, citizens should also need to do whatever they can in order to ensure their safety.

To begin with, some people are of the thought that one must take care of his or her safety as police cannot be present everywhere at all times and this is true. For instance, theft can occur anytime at any shop. Hence, it is the duty of the shop owner to keep the shop secure by installing security alarms, appointing guard for safety or installing cameras as police cannot be present all time to prevent the incidents. Additionally, customers should also take care of their belonging to ensure that they should not be robbed. Such measures can prevent many criminal activities from occurring. Thus, it is evident that each individual has a responsibility to ensure their safety.

However, there is a limit to what a person can do to keep themselves safe. Only the government can enforce robust laws to keep the crime rate in check. Stringent laws will act as a deterrent and dampen the crime rate to a great extent. For example, in the Middle east the punishment for each and every crime is so harsh that people do not dare to break any law, as a result the crime rate of the Middle Eastern countries is very low as compared to the whole world. On the contrary, in India the crime rate is increasing year after year because the laws here are lenient enough and more often criminals are left off very easily. Unfortunately, this encourages others to commit crimes. Hence, the state own up the responsibility and enforce vigorous laws that will discourage people from committing any crimes.

To conclude, both individuals and the government have the responsibility to prevent the crime from occurring. People can do whatever they can do to ensure their safety, although the government should enact strict laws to restrict people from committing offences.