Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discusss both views and give you own opinion

Air pollution is one of the environmental issues that attracts a lot of concerns around the world. As such, a number of measures has been proposed to alleviate the severe situation. One of which is the initiative of global car-free days and in my standpoint, there exists other feasible and more effective measures as well.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that having days on which cars are prohibited plays a critical role in ameliorating the severity of air contamination. Firstly, an enormous drop in the volume of cars leads to a considerable plunge of carbon dioxide emission, which is one of the main culprits causing air pollution. This expection stems from the success of the Earth’s hour program tat has vastly contributed in reducing the electricity consumption. Secondly, people would have to resort to other means of transport such as bus, bicycle, walking and so on, which gives rise to the popularity of these alternatives. Commuters would then be aware of the convenience and mobility of these commuting methods in comparison with cars. As a result, they might opt for public transport as their preferred choice.

On the other hand, having global car-free days does not solve the air pollution comprehensively. Prohibiting car use for only few days contributes marginally to the reduction of carbon dioxide being released to the atmosphere. Instead, government should impose higher environmental taxes on cars, which serves as a deterrent to prospective owners. As such, a decline in the number of vehicles associated with their emission can be expected. Another meassure is to improve the public transport condition and service. Only when the public transport becomes more convenient, friendly and timely can it attract more commuters. Besides, should the government allocate a sufficient amount of fund in researching and developing of environmental friendly vehicles, the air pollution severity can be hopefully alleviated.

In conclusion, government should combine other measures simultaneously to deal the air pollution in addtion to the idea of discouraging car use for few days.