Some people think that it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that it would be a better idea to establish parks and exercise facilities instead of shopping malls in new urban areas. This essay is in agreement with the above-mentioned notion.

To begin with, the supporters of the shopping malls suggest that these malls play a vital in the economy of the area. A mall is basically a hub of different brands and shops which enable employers to hire hundreds of local people from sweeper to manager as well as sale staff to increase the sales of their malls. This, in turn, leads to an increase in the revenue of the area and people paying taxes will increase. Furthermore, people will be able to access the market, and latest brands in the local area also increase the profit of the mall and indirectly increase the revenue of the government.

However, the benefits of the parks and sports facilities cannot be overlooked for economic factors. With the advent of time, schedules have changed a lot and the life of people have become busier which left no time for pass time and health. Moreover, technological advancement has made it easy to buy things online through various sites such as Amazon, Myntra, or Flipkart within few clicks even at the most distant places which were earlier inaccessible. However, the parks and sports facilities in the local area will encourage people towards better health without spending a penny. Well maintained parks with beautiful landscapes and having open gyms instill with enthusiasm to work out and become healthy. Furthermore, these parts can become an indispensable part of life for elderlies, and children are not able to travel or join any gym. For instance, Chandigarh is a union territory where around 90 percent of the parks are equipped with gym machines to encourage people to be fit.

To conclude, no doubt malls succor the economy of the area to uplift even so I believe that the health of the people overrules the economy. The parks and exercise facilities encourage people to gain health while enjoying the natural landscape.