Some people think that it is better to educate girls and boys in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In many parts of the world, specially the conservative communities, there is a common believe that boys and girls educational institutes should be segregated. While others may see that it is really helpful for both genders to grow and learn together. In my point of view, such separation at early stages may not lead to an open-minded or a healthy generation. This essay will provide evidence in support of my position.

Firstly, in radical societies, as mine, the families are very conservative when it comes to women’s participation in the community, especially young girls. For instance, in my country Egypt most of the parents prefer to enroll their girls in separate schools in order to avoid potential sexual interaction. Thus it is very obvious that how cultural effects can influence decisions related to the gender.

On the other side, the people who believe that there should be a joint educational system that mixes boys and girls have a strong logic behind their opinion. Mixed schools would enhance the social intelligence for both sexes. In addition, girls and boys must have equal learning and improvement opportunities. We can take the international schools in Egypt as a perfect example of this effective educational system. Almost all students that are graduated from these schools are better educated, more open-minded and have higher ability to interact with outside society. In other words this system produces a more flexible graduate.

As above shows the benefits of having mixed schools are much more than those for gender-separated ones. I feel that it would be in the best of the society to mitigate the effects of the negative elements if the traditions.