Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of the people who are already ill. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Few people have the viewpoint that government should invest in enlightening and encouraging people to exhibit a healthy lifestyle rather than spending it on those who are sick. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the focus of the government should be more on promoting a good and healthy lifestyle instead of investing in treatments.

Firstly, healthier people are happier than those who are sick. As a result, they are more productive and also have a longer life span. Therefore, the primary focus of the government should be to make the public aware of its benefit. If people would fall less sick, consequently, there would be a lesser requirement for investing in treatments. Public awareness would also result in resolving a lot of diseases from the roots.

In addition, there are countries with population in hundred of crores. Consequently, health services of governments may not be able to ensure proper treatment for such large population. Therefore, promoting awareness would be a wise decision. In rural areas, people often fall sick to diseases as they are unaware of methods to prevent them. Public enlightenment thus becomes an important practice for health services. Countries like India have become Polio free just by promoting it on a mass level. They utilized all the mainstream media to eradicate the disease, polio, from the country.

On the contrary, government health services should also make sure that adequate treatment is provided to all the diseased people in both public and private hospitals. They should also invest in exploring antidotes and vaccinations for eliminating the diseases.

To conclude, I would strongly recommend that the awareness programs should be the priority of the government, as prevention is always better than the cure.