Some people think that paying tax is their only duty while others believe that we have more responsibilities towards our society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Taxation has increased by many folds in the last decade. Owing to this, some people argue that they should not have other responsibilities towards their society since they have already done their part by paying taxes. However, I believe that a citizen apart from paying taxes should take some social responsibilities as well.

The tax which we pay in the various forms helps the government to run the country. From building roads to constructing a hospital, providing free education and helping economically weak section are some responsibilities of the governments, that cannot be achieved without a proper taxation system in the place. For instance, sixty per cent of the budget of any country is based on income through the tax systems, while another 40% depends on the earnings from different departments. Thus, everyone should pay their share of tax so that all system works smoothly.

Likewise, being a citizen of a country people should have social responsibilities, one of them is to save the environment. Everyone around the globe is talking about global warming, deforestation, and plastic waste. Although big corporations and different agencies should work to resolve this issue, the small steps from the people can make the impact. If everyone, for example, takes a pledge to not to use plastic items, I am sure that we will successfully win the war against plastic pollution. Therefore, all people should take a small step to fight various social problems, environment issue is one of them.

To conclude, I believe that, without proper taxes from the public, it would be impossible for the government to execute the plans for the betterment of society, whereas citizen also is responsible to make their country a better place.