Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

In recent years, the correlation between understanding a different culture and mastering its language has sparked a heated debate. Some argue that learning a foreign language is the condition to embrace the culture. I completely disagree with this notion.

To begin with, firstly, there are various embodiments of a country’s culture and language is not a unique one. The heritage of India exemplifies this precisely. One may not necessarily be good at Hindi however, enjoying jalli kattu and kabaddi is enough to be welcome in this attractive country. It has been proven by the success of Commonwealth Games held in 2010 and Men’s hockey world 2010. Hence, language is not the only key to familiarizing with a specific culture.

Secondly, the rapid globalization process has created plenty of cultures without any language barrier. For instance, Japan is renowned for its comic culture, and associated cartoon books and films have become omnipresent throughout the world. Even those without basic knowledge of Japanese are able to understand the contents from the visuals. A picture is worth a thousand words. Thus, besides language, there are still other means by which a culture can be interpreted.

However, the importance of the language to understand the culture should not be underestimated. The majority of human civilization has been recorded and transmitted by languages, and Harappa Civilization is the best example. The seals obtained from the site have different languages in scripted on it but no one is one to decrypt it if one would be able to do it will be easily understood this current society came into origin. Therefore, mastering the local language is conducive to embracing the community, the society and the culture.

To conclude, language is an integral part of a culture. However, there is still a possibility of understanding a country and its culture by other methods.