Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, the number of accidents increases dramatically due to several reasons such as the drivers or the road condition. There is a fair amount of people think that the serious punishments are effective solutions to reduce this trend while so many residents believe that this issue could be tackled in the different ways. In my opinion, the government need to implement both opinions to address this problem. This essay is going to discuss both ideas.

On the one hand, I understand why citizens agree with developing and implementing the strict punishments to eliminate traffic accidents. There are two main factors contributing extremely to current traffic accident cases. Firstly, it causes from the drivers who are drunk. 60 percent of the cases relate to the alcohol, according to the recent report of the USA. Additionally, 30 percent of the accident cases caused by driving over the speed limit. Therefore, the government should introduce the strict penalties to the drivers who tend to drink or drive over the speed limit.

On the other hand, there are possible solutions that the authority can introduce to the public to remove the problem. Providing a safety driving class every month to all drivers is one of the measures that can be considered, for example, a mandatory online course to remind the strict rules and the essential requirement while driving is one of the topics. Furthermore, the authority should consider reducing the speed limit such as from 110 kilometres per hour in highway to 90 kilometres per hour.

In conclusion, this essay argued both aspects that can be effective solutions to increase the road safety. While people think the serious penalties are main solution for the issue, I believe that this will be only addressed by applying multiple methods.