Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The wild animal is also important part of the ecosystem hence, it needs to be preserved. According to certain people, zoos play a crucial role in protecting wild animal rather other has a viewpoint that zoos should be abolished as locking them is cruel and unnecessary. Personally, I agree with the opinion that zoos should be shut down and will discuss both the viewpoints in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, the supporting ideas for having zoos are as follow. Firstly, zoos act as great helpers in preserving endangered animals by keeping them safe from poaching, hunting, and predator. Hence, it has become the place to rehabilitate potential lost species. Even some of the zoos run breeding programs in order to increase the numbers of some of the endangered species from becoming extinct. For instance, Protect Tiger program in India helped to conserve the national animal of the country.

However, these points can be counted as benefits but to some extent only. Firstly, they are trained for the entertainment of the public, in order to generate the profit to the owner of the zoo because of which they might of ill. It has been reported many times that animals in the zoo expired because of the shortage of food which is less likely to happen when they are in there natural habit. Furthermore, many wild animals are unable to behave normally because of the environment as their counterpart living in the natural environment. They are only limited to cages and small space which forbid their growth. For instance, polar bears can walk around hundreds of kilometers when they are in their Arctic home but in these zoos they can hardly roam five or six kilometers.

To conclude, I certainly agree that zoos should be banned as they limit the independence of the species and mostly used by the owner to gain some profit.