In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Crime activities are increasing among teenagers in various localities. Strata of the populace reiterate that the youngster should be given harsh punishments irrespective of their age, who commit heinous crimes. This essay is in firm disagreement with the above-mentioned notion and supporting reasons are explained in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, firstly, teenage is the milestone which plays a crucial part in everyone’s life. They are more attracted to violent movies which make them incompetent in differentiating between reality and virtuality. As a result, they tend to get into the wrong company and later on, involve in afflict activities as the hero is laudable even after committing a crime. Moreover, the games like real gun shooter or shooting hero are hero-centric games, which in turn make them self-centered. Therefore, they lack guidance from parents or elders. For instance, the survey done by “The time” reveals that 67 percent of the criminal activities which are done by teenagers is an imitation of the same process followed in the movies or games.

However, criminals cannot be left without giving punishment because this will send a wrong message to society but these teens should be given a chance and reimbursed in society. They should be sent to rehabilitation centers where they should be taught some skills and ways for the betterment of life. They should be educated about the laws and how to be a good citizen. All of the above, a proper counseling session should be arranged by the government in the center where the mentality of the child can be changed.

To conclude, in my opinion, punishment the same as adults is not a better option because some youngsters just want to copy their role models and to control this behavior they should be guided by parents. The government should arrange counseling for them instead of punishing them.