Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some take a view that students spend an amount of time, approximately one year, between high school graduation and university working or travelling. From my perspective, although a bridge-year between school and university to work or to travel has enormous drawbacks, I believe that it is also tremendously beneficial

There are several reasons why a gap year brings some disadvantages. First, there is a likelihood that/it is likely that taking a year off makes students lose the good study habits and sense of discipline gradually. This is because this is a sufficient amount of time to get the student out of the routine of learning hard. In addition, rarely can students immediately land a good job if they graduate late, compared to fellow students. Students who take a year off to join temporary jobs will be easily tricked into thinking that they have the ability to earn considerable amount of money. As a result, they can make a decision to drop out of university, leading to losing the chance to reach higher in their professional career path later their lives.

Despite the disadvantages of taking a long break between leaving high school and beginning university, the advantages of it are more significant. First of all, a gap year offers extraordinarily great opportunities so that students can experience different cultures. When they travel to a range of countries, they can learn about viewpoints, traditions and lifestyles different from their own. Moreover, the independence and self-confidence are what students can achieve and practice while working in the gap year. Additionally, of vital essence to poor students is taking the one year to earn university tuition fee through part time jobs, this is the necessary time that student can not only earn money to pay the way for studying at university but also learn diverse skills like communication skills.

In conclusion, for the reason that taking one year off is vitally crucial to students between school and university, I think that this has more the benefits than the drawbacks.