Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Eating habits have changed in recent years. Strata of the populace reiterate that in order to discourage the eating of junk foods the government should lavish tax on such food which will motivate them to eat healthy food. This essay is in disagreement with the above-said notion.

To begin with, firstly, by imposing a steep tax on the eatables people which not abandon them, however, if they will get educated about the ill-effects such food can have on the body then they will be more encouraged to regulate their habits. To describe in other words, the government should launch a crusade to make people aware of the health issues caused by eating unhealthy or junk food with a brief explanation of the harmful preservatives which are actually responsible for deteriorating health.

Furthermore, the government should instruct the restaurants and food companies to describe all the ingredients clearly and also add describe the fats, carbohydrates, and proteins amount in the food. This will allow the consumer to decide whether they want to have that food or not as this makes them able to distinguish between healthy and unhealthy food. However, everyone is not capable of understanding the given figures even though this step should be taken as this will definitely act as a long term strategy.

To conclude, applying heavy tax will not be able to provide the desired results, however, by informing people about the health hazards and ingredient included in the food can help them to regulate their eating habits.