Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

I believe that improvements of the technology brings many advantages to the learning process and one of it is an online education, which widely on offer in the majority of universities. However some people think that online education is not a positive development.

To begin with, the contemporary telecommunication technology makes conversations between remote people is as sophisticated as a real life can provide. Therefore it is not necessary for students to be physically at the same place with their teachers. It brings the idea that classes are not anymore restricted with particular amount of students, also students themselves can reduce spending on education because of economy on travelling and accommodation. It seems that a lot of learning materials can be video recorded and rewatched more than once by students.

On the other hand although theoretical learning can be easily provided online, practice may be a much more trickier. It is hard to imagine that welder or surgeon can be taught remotely. Therefore online education have its own limits. However technology is developing and there are a lot of virtual training machines which can solve this problem in the near future. Other disadvantage of online courses could be the profit of the university and cut off the teachers jobs. It seems that course could be recorded once and just be replayed for different students many times as a result there would not be necessary to have many teachers on permanent jobs, and prices of the courses could decline.

In conclusion, although online education is not an answer to any question, in my opinion, its advantages overvalued its disadvantages.