These days it seems that an increasing number of the people are leaving rural areas to live in the city. Discuss effect of migration on cities and suggest some solution to reverse the trend.

In recent decades, the migration of the people from the countryside to cities has increased rapidly which has drastically impacted the urban areas. I will discuss the effects of this shift on the cities and also suggest solutions for reversing this.

To begin with, the huge number of migrants from rural areas tends to overpopulate the cities which in turn leads to various problems. Firstly, the concentration of the job vacancies remains the same however, the job seeker's number drastically increases which results in unemployment in the cities. This unemployment, later on, becomes the reason for the rise in the crime rate in the urban areas. Additionally, this increased population sometimes leads to the creation of slums in the urban areas which in turn deteriorate the quality of various services such as water and hospitals. For instance, a survey done by “The Times” in Chandigarh reveals that only 7 percent of the population is the local population, and rest are from different states that came there in search of a job and a better lifestyle.

However, we need to know the reason behind this migration before solving this problem and the biggest reason is unemployment, no job opportunities, and low rate services. The government can enhance the education pattern of the rural areas and also generate new job opportunities for the local people which can obviously deter the rate of migration. Additionally, the services such as government hospitals and proper drinking water should be provided to the people and the people involved in the horticulture, aquaculture, or other kinds of agriculture should be incentives properly which help in lowering the migration.

To conclude, the impact of the movement of people from rural areas to cities has lowered the quality of various services and tends to increase the rate of unemployment. Although, steps like generating new job vacancies and increasing the quality of the services in the rural areas which definitely help in dampening this increasing immigration.