Today more and more cities are being rebuilt and redesigned in order to be modernized. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Owing to housing as well as traffic problems in old cities, authorities have been renovating these urban areas to provide better amenities and lifestyle to the people. While the redesigning of cities influenced its inhabitants in a very positive way, however, at the same time, its few disadvantages cannot be overlooked. This essay will highlight both merits and demerits of this trend.

First and foremost, there are number of changes like conversion of horizontal housing infrastructure into vertical one, widening of roads, amelioration of sewage system by installing big pipes and all have been done to tackle the issues faced by most of the old cities. Firstly, as with increasing population, there is a need of more houses for people who are coming to cities to earn their livelihood. However, horizontal construction of houses needs more space and to counteract this, construction of vertical buildings and or skyscrapers is gaining ground. Furthermore, more people in city means more vehicles on roads which further catalyze the need of wider roads. Hence, widening the existing roads is also a major part of the renovation which tackle road congestion effectively.

On the contrary, there are some unfavorable effects of this trend on society. Firstly, generally people are living in communities in old cities, whereas, the renovation scatter that community people in different places which really impact the social satisfaction of individual as he might be losing relationships with their neighbors and other community members. Moreover, in modern high rise apartments, people have to bear more cost as these building are more expensive as compare to their old houses.

To conclude, although there are few negative aspects associated with modernization of cities, advantages are increasingly more and it an inevitable change to meet the needs of citizens of these cities.