TOPIC 1: Some people think that the government should pay for health care and education, but there is no agreement about whether it is the government’s responsibility. What is your opinion?

My essay

Health care and education are two areas that people in most countries claim to be the government’s first priority, however, many tend to see them as citizens’ individual duty. From my point of view, the cost of education and health care service is the responsibility of the government.

First and foremost, a free education, funded by the government, is of benefit not only to each family but the whole society as well. There are many occasions on which parents cannot afford the cost of education and resort to leaving their children to self-study. Consequently, the children’s poor academic experience will ruin their career, put them at disadvantaged position, thus, make them become burden to the country. By providing the underprivileged children an access to a comfortable learning course, the government can assure that their citizens will stand a better chance of having a stable job so as to support their own life without depending on the government’s finance.

Secondly, everyone should receive an equal health care treatment because besides its being a basic human right, it is a measure to standard of life. That the government spend more money on building hospitals and modernizing equipment is advisable in order to enable its citizens to easily take care of their health. Only when public well-being is secured can people work with their full potentials and make significant contribution to the society.

As suggested above, the government should give priority to education and health care because they are of utmost importance to each person. It is their duty to make these fields available and affordable to everybody so as to secure the country’s development.