Tourism is an ever growing industry. What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

In the last decade, the tourist industry has growth seen exponential growth because people nowadays are interested in travelling and exploring new areas. Owing to the increase in tourism, there are lots of advantages for people and communities such as employment opportunities, promote culture and peace.

To begin with, firstly, various countries are working effectively on promoting tourism, as heavy amount of wealth can be accumulated from the tourism. Additionally, this sector plays a significant role in raising the GDP of the country, and wealth amassed from traveling business can be utilized for the betterment of the infrastructure construction and renovation of the old building such as hospitals and old art museums, which in turn elevate the standard of living. Furthermore, local products receive recognition, which helps in generating livelihood for the locals. Research at the University of Melbourne shows that around 65 percent of the country’s GDP depends on the tourism industry.

As far as the individual is concerned, tourism provides effectual benefits. Tourism generates employment options for youth which eventually dampens the crime rate in the society. Additionally, people get the opportunity to learn efficacious ways of communication, and this helps them in building their confidence level and also makes them realize the benefit of learning different languages. For instance, the recent increase of tourists from western countries has increased the use of the English language rapidly in South Asian countries.

To conclude, the tourism industry not only brings prosperity but also commendable benefits to society and a person.