Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

Distance learning has recently gained significant tractions in the tertiary education. Nevertheless, many people doubt on the effectiveness of distance learning as compare to the conventional way of teaching. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this development are greater than the benefits.

There are several benefits on distance learning. The main advantage is students will have the ultimate flexibility on the schedule. Therefore, students are able to manage their time wisely to fit in their free time. Besides, they can literally study in anywhere around the world due to the nature of the course. In addition, distance learning enables students to skip some of the modules which is already known by them.

With the great flexibility of distance learning, it comes with numerous drawbacks that prevent students to excel in the course. Firstly, the lack of active discussion with lecturers and peers will result in a slow progress and undesirable learning. In addition, teachers might provide real case examples during the lectures which benefits students in the process of understanding. Distance learners are not able to enjoy this treatment. Lastly, students that are lazy will ended up spending lesser time than the course required as there were no lecturers to monitor their progress. As a result, their might not complete the course on time.

To conclude, although distance learning might be beneficial to certain group of students, majority of the students still prefer the traditional way of teaching as it involves in a two way discussion between students and lecturers.