University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly identifiable that the upper education is effective method to alleviate the poverty for those student who are living under the poverty line, thus many discussions are around on this topic. One of which regards on the university's tuition fee whether it should be free for everyone. While I tend toward the viewpoint that this could have great benefit to all students as well as the university, I would admit that there are some drawbacks behind.

One argument put forwards in favor of the waiving of tuition free is that all students can have same chance to place themselves into university. Currently, the tuition fee of university already imposes a great burden on a middle class family, let alone the family under poverty line. Sorrowfully, some students who are qualified to study university was unwillingly given up this chance due to cash crunch. We can avoid this situation as long as university no longer charge tuition fee. Meanwhile, the university itself can have beneficial impact as more eligible students are available and they can choose the best among them. This is win win situation, seemingly.

However, reaching the conclusion that waiving tuition fee for university students is conductive does not mean we can ignore the negative consequences behind, especially on university and society. In many counties, the majority of university funding are largely from the governments and tuition fee. The waive of tuition fee will result in either reduction of university resources or subsidization of the tuition from government. The first one will inevitably set back the teaching quality. The later one will impose a great financial pressure on the governments, causing the cost cutting on other areas such as social welfare.

Definitely, free university education would appeal every students, but we cannot recklessly finance all students when social resource is being concerned. The government should strategically allocate the limited financial resource to the student who has actual need.