Watching TV is an effective way of educating children. Children should be encouraged to watch
TV regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?
There are different opinions in regard to the question of whether television is an important facilitator in the
learning process. It is widely believed that educational TV programs are eminently beneficial for youths. This
essay will put forward the notion that watching television is not the best way for children to learn about various
subjects. An analysis of the usefulness of information shown on TV,
as well as of the temptation to be distracted from watching fascinating telecasts, will prove the
above-stated position.
The main reason why adults should not rely on TV in molding their children’s knowledge is that the mass media
aims to broadcast entertaining shows rather than educational programs. Consequently, even scientific telecasts
can be made more exciting and engaging for adolescents by distorting true facts. Moreover, some commercial
adverts mimic such shows. As a result, youths may be led to believe misleading information.
Another reason why television has a minor bearing on educating young boys and girls is that they can easily be
distracted from learning. This is because a diversity of TV channels is available nowadays and children can
switch between them at any time; it is certainly true that cartoons and movies are more interesting for youths
than educational shows. For example, I can vividly remember that I used to switch away from tedious programs
when my parents were not paying attention to the TV screen.
In conclusion, I completely disagree that television is a useful educational tool since the majority of TV
programs does not aim to teach about anything and due to the fact that many adolescents prefer to watch
entertaining telecasts. After analyzing the subject, it has become quite evident that parents should choose
alternative ways to teach their children.