In what ways has information technology changed work and working practices in the past 10 years.

The rapid development of technology since last decade has dramatically changed people ways of life, especially sprouting into the area of working practices. In this essay, we will discuss how technology beneficially impacts our working places and patterns.

To begin with the working places, the office location is no longer limited in high rise building, the office workers can now work in home instead. Specially thank to the advance of technology, office workers can make use of the computer to communicate with other peoples in home and even attend meeting using video conferencing, saving time from commuting to office. This form of working is known as telecommuting and it is prevalent in many metropolises.

Besides the change to telecommuting, technology has also propelled the labors to transform into highly skillful workers. In many factories, many monotonous tasks have been replaced by machinery in which the jobs formerly are done by the intensive number of labors. Even though these machines can do the automated task, they still need peoples to maintain and operate, giving a chance to the labors who is being replaced by machine to learn the new skill and keep working in factories. In this way, the factory labor has been transformed into skillful workers.

All in all, technology will continue to stride in many places, including the working pattern. We must keep an open mind, updating the latest technological trend so to fit ourselves into new working environment.