While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Some opine that criminals should be kept in the prison as they are the best place for them, rather others are of the view that there more effective ways to reform them. In my opinion, criminals who are a potential threat to society should be locked inside the jails whereas those with the desire to transform themselves should be allowed a chance to get involved in reformatory work.

To begin with, the serious offenders who have convicted horrendous crime undoubtedly possess the ability to harm society so they should be confined to lockups. The criminal motive and intentions they have cannot be dealt with by peaceful measures which means that they will re-offend and wreak havoc in the society if they are allowed to move out of the prison. Even if they are prevented from committing any crime they might influence young and needy minds to follow their footsteps and thus augment the crime rate. In the end, no fruitful result can be generated in the process.

However, the juvenile offenders and minor criminals who have been jailed for comparatively minor offences should be allowed a second chance to redesign their lives. They should be granted an opportunity to correct themselves. First of all, vocational training programs should be started for juvenile offenders and moral education should be given to teach them to distinguish noble from evil, become law-abiding citizens of the country. Secondly, adults should be given vocational training and skill development sessions that can help them in grabbing a good job after release from the rehabilitation centers and stay immune to criminal tendencies.

To conclude, it is not realistic ti make and follow the general rule for all the criminals. Before determining whether a criminal should be put behind the bars or given any opportunity to reform the gravity of the crime committed should be analyzed.