World history suggests that violence and conflict were more evident under male leadership than under female leadership. So, for peace to prevail, female leadership can be considered as a better option than male leadership.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The human history reveals that there were both male and female rulers who were involved in various wars. So peace being disturbed is not the liability of men only and I am of the opinion that the power shift, from men to women, is destined to be futile in prevailing peace.

Most of the women who are considered as great till date, e.g. Queen Isabella of Spain, Queen Mary, Victoria and Elizabeth of Britain, all of them ruled the world over a vast spectrum of power. They have done so ruthlessly to achieve their target. These women are not the anomalies of the history, but the examples from numerous others, who went beyond the boundaries of gender in the path of prevailing in power while expanding peace whenever they deemed it to be expandable.

The two greatest wars of modern history, World War I & II, have taught us that wars are impersonal. Race, religion, nationality, gender are only pretences to the universally human lust for power. Though it is true that during both the global conflicts men were in the rulers’ throne, it will be foolish to say that Margaret Thatcher, the famed Iron Lady, who spared no road against a minnow enemy in the war of Finland, would be more diplomatic than how the greats Winston Churchill and Franklyn D. Roosevelt had been tackling the axis of Hitler.

In conclusion, the gender issue is only a dominant in the battlefield of gender, not the battles among nations and people. It is, therefore, impertinent to say that the world conflicts are the outcome of particular gender and the finer sex would do a better job at prevailing peace if selectively put at the helm of human nations.