71)Which would you choose: a high-paying job with long hours that would give you little time with family and friends or a lower-paying job with shorter hours that would give you more time with family and friends? Explain your choice, using specific reason

The writer of the issue contends that it would be enjoyable to have a job where one works on a three-day basis rather than engaging in a whole traditionally defined work-week. As in many cases, this issue will absorb both its own proponents and detractors. In what follows the main reasons adduced by the two of these groups will be discussed and there after my stance would be delineated.

The advocates of such plan may express a number of benefits involved with it including acquirement of plenty of spare time to be fully exploited in variety of ways. In this manner, those who have worked on three-day basis have some quality extra time to be spent with their dear family members or close friends, enjoy recreational and refreshing activities and the like. Nevertheless, they may tend to have a secondary job rather than enjoying and entertaining themselves which in turn could be financially reasonable.

The opponents, on the other side, seem to have some other reasons to believe otherwise. They might be concerned about ramifications of such a plan. In their perspective, this will decrease efficacy seriously. This regard, long hours of work may sound excruciating and loss of control or precision could be part of its adverse effects. Furthermore, both private and public sectors need a consistent management. Therefore, this plan would not do justice in higher positions since managers and supervisors should be in close contact with the tide of matters week round, albeit expect for weekends.

As for my own stance, I am much inclined to lodge myself somewhere between the two of these postures. Actually, one crucial factor which may not be unraveled to some individuals is that at least we have to consider what type of job herein is open for such a debate. Moreover, some jobs are not that much sensitive and aforementioned plan may seem quite viable. Take the case of janitors, they would find it appealing in order to find other jobs to increase their presumably lower income if they encounter these sorts of propositions. In contrast, some jobs or careers are by nature precarious and this plan may bring about catastrophic consequences. For instance, a pilot needs to work for a limited number of hours. Not to mention, hundreds of lives are at stake. By and large, I think only after keen consideration of associated aspects in each case, we are allowed to detract or praise the possible values of such shortened work weeks.