Agree or disagree: If a university wants to attract good students, it must

spend a lot of money on social activities for students.

It’s a highly debated issue whether school should spend a lot of money on social activities to attract good students. And this topic can be approached by several different angles due to its complexity. Deeply deliberating over the issue, I also develop my own point of view., I agree that school should spend money social activities.

First, social activities are helpful for the studies because holding social activities can provide students chances to interact with different people. In other words, students can exchange their opinion and ideas in their major field from the interaction. And different opinions can inspire more creative ideas to solve the problems they met in their studies. For example, I love to hang out with my classmates and discuss the problems we have in our experiment on Friday night. After the discussion, I can approach my problem in different point of view due to their suggestion. Therefore, social activities can help good students studies.

Secondly, social activities can help good students to relax. Specifically, good students are usually stressful because they have to prepare lots of exams and reports. And social activities can help them forget their homework and exams temporarily. Hence ,spending money on holding social activities are necessary for students.

However, some people might contend that social activities can cause negative effect because distraction may occur due to too much entertainment. Nevertheless, good students are always conscious of how to arrange their time. In short, they can clearly distinguish the difference between when to study hard and when to relax by hanging out their friends. Thus, schools should spend lots of money on social activities.

By and large, with the reason provided above, I agree that holding social activities can attract lots of good students for school. That is not to say, the other points of view are completely without merits. However, I think the reasons I provided above are much stonger.