agree or disagree with this statement

television advertising directed toward toward young children should not be allowed

In this ever-changing world, public media play a significant role in peoples' life, they especially impress adolescent and children negatively or maybe positively depends on type of program. Considering the fact that television advertisements have financial purposes, their effects on children are never considered. Due to these facts, I personally believe that television’s advertisement should not direct toward young children. There are three main reasons why I have this preference.

First and foremost, because of the reason that children (aged two to five) are in sensitive age which learn and imitate everything they see immediately, the content of programs which are broadcast on television for them should be controlled especially psychologically. As an instance, I saw a cartoon when I was five years old that a honey bee lost its mother and always was bored and stressful in search of mother. The stress and concern of that honey bee was highly affected me in a way that now I remember it after twenty five years. Regarding this sensitivity, the advertisement should not addressed children because it could have impressed them in an irreparable way.

Another prominent reason is that, making decision by children in this age is more emotionally rather than logically, so, appealing advertisements on television absorb them and they desire to have it even if having this object will be harmful. For example there is an advertisement about learning alphabet’s' package on television in my country; although this kind of learning is not appropriate for this age, lots of parents buy it for their babies because of their insistence.

Last but not least, the advertisements which are shown on television, often are made in tricky way to absorb people to buy a product, even if they are not standardized or have poor quality which hurt consumer. Therefore, by addressing children but not parents, producers try to sell more and more. So, this is a kind of abusing which should be prevented by whom is responsible for.

To sum up, television advertisements should not be allowed to address children due to some reasons such as sensitivity of children, emotional based decisions, and deceptive purpose behind the advertisements.