To be successful at work or at school we must be creative.

In my opinion, creativity is not necessary for success at work or at school. I disagree with the claim in the question. In the following paragraphs I will explain the reasons why I feel so.

In a school, students are taught various subjects and many of them don’t require creativity. For example, a biology class usually tests a student’s memorising ability, and not his creativity. Students need to remember the names of various species of organisms, life processes, and details of the human body such as organs, and systems like the nervous system, the excretory system and the cardiovascular system. Similarly, mathematics tests a student’s quantitative prowess instead of creativity. For example, students would be required to think logically and solve problems in an organised way. Again, creativity is not too important in solving mathematical problems. Thus, creativity need not be the most important skill of a student to be successful at school.

In work too, creativity is not necessarily a decider of success. Consider a simple technician who repairs electronic appliances. He can be more successful if he can become more fluent in the internals of the appliances and adept in using his tools. Thus creativity is not that important to him. Let us take another example of a jewelry maker. To be more successful, he could improve precision while making the tiny jewelry pieces. Precise measurements would give the jewelry a fine finish. Clearly, creativity is not going to help the jewelry maker in advancing his career.

To sum up, I think that students or working professionals need not be creative to be successful in their lives. Although, creativity certainly boosts an individual’s worth and hence creative people can sometime achieve success more easily, its absence do not jeopardise success.