Being self-employed or working for an employer

Some people are inclined toward working for someone else whereas others prefer self-employment. Personally speaking, I believe that being self-employed is much better since one would earn more money and would experience less stress by owing his or her own business.

Firstly, one of the greatest achievements of self-employment is that people would earn more money. Admittedly, being the only investor, self-employed person could receive the whole financial returns to the business. Not only this, a self-employed person is free to choose and employ certain marketing strategies that he or she finds practical to enhance profit improvement. For example, when I founded my own business on importing food additives, I could increase my income by twice compared with that much I earned when I worked as an employee in a private company. Moreover, my boss was a conservative person who would not like take risks to employ different marketing strategies. However, working on my own business, I had the freedom to prepare certain polls to figure out my customers’ interests so that I focused on those special products, which better meet the customer’s needs. Therefore, a self-employed person would definitely gain more money and even would improve it using his or her own business policies.

Secondly, it is quite likely for a self-employed person to have less stress in work environment. In fact, it is not necessary for a self-employed person to be worry of how his or her work is judged by the boss. One also does not have to wonder if his mistakes would negatively affect the employer’s opinion about him or how his success in a project guarantees his promotion. Moreover, the self-employed individuals know that there are no worries of surpassing other employees to be the “star employee”. For example, when I worked in a dairy company I always had to be worried if I did a good job and I was under a lot of pressure in order not to make any mistakes that hurt the factory. However, now by establishing my own business, I could get rid of all these intruding concerns.

Overall, taking into account all these factors, I prefer to be self-employed. There are, indeed, many advantages to self-employment, such as earning more money and having less stress. So why not establish our own business when it is more advantageous?