The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Some people prefer to be led by a tour guide when they are traveling, while the others love organizing the trip themselves. Personally speaking, I am of the latter group of people. So I disagree with statement that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. And I will elaborate my reasons in this essay.

The first reason why I hold this view is that travelling with some people following the tour guide lacks the freedom of exploring. It is obvious that it is the guide who decide where to go instead of you, so I might end up spending a lot of time hanging around some places of interests that are not attractive to me at all. I have such personal experiences. Once I traveled with my family following a tour guide, and in the progress we went to climb a mountain as the guide planed. It was very tiring and boring trip because the mountain paths were stiff and the view is not beautiful at all. If it had been me who planned the travel, I would probably skip this place and replace it something that suits me better.

Second, hiring a guide cause extra money of the travel. Traveling is often expensive because you have to pay the cost of living in hotel and transportation. So if it is necessary to pay extra money to hire a guide is a question worth considering. With the internet we can easily gather useful information that helps us DIY an ideal trip, such as what's the most popular site worth visiting or which hotels charge reasonable price and locate in convenient areas. And all it takes is just a few hours of your time, which saves you a considerable amount of money.

Finally, we might not get along well with the strangers who also follow the guide. During the traveling spending a lot of time with the strangers from the same group is almost inevitable, which could be good or bad. Because it depends on whether we like those people or not. On the other hand, there is no such problem when we lead ourselves with friends or family.

In a nutshell, traveling in a group led by a tour guide has apparent drawbacks compare with traveling by ourselves, such as the lack of freedom or costing extra money and being with strangers. So this is not the best way.