computer games in 21st century, good or bad
There is no doubt that computer games have developed so much in 21st century that you
can find at least one of them in every home. Before rendering my point of view, I think it is
better to first present the two contrasting view about computer games. Some believe that
computer games can have constructive effects on children while others believe that they have
destructive effects on children and are complete waste of time. Generally speaking, I believe that
computer games are useful for children and I will explicate my vantage point by providing some
conspicuous examples.
First, computer games can increase one's imagination. Since some computer games provide
fictional and fantasy worlds, in which fictional characters are shown as well as imaginary scenes
and places, they can increase children's imagination. I'm the first to admit that playing computer
games for long hours can cause children problems and also alienate them from the real world
outside. However, if parents control their children's playing hours and also the type of video
games they play, then children's imagination will increase as a result. For instance, one of my
friend used to play video games when he was a teenager and he liked to play fictional games and
as a result he developed a very well-stablished imagination through playing which lead him to a
successful career in science fiction writing profession.
Second, computer games can be used to teach school material to children. Nowadays, many
schools try to make their method of education more innovative in order to proliferate the quality
of children's education. By using educational oriented computer games they can accomplish this
task much easier. For instance, some schools in my country have recently renewed their method
of education by using computer games in classes and the results, gathered by school surveyors,
showed that the student attending these classes will do better on exams than those who did not
attend.
Finally, computer games can affect the way people think about problems and help them decide
better in difficult situations. However, some computer games contain bad content which will
affect the way children thinks about subjects, but in some video games children are presented
with a problem and they should find a solution for that problem. Consider a game which
simulates the construction of a city. A child who plays this game will have to thinks about the
strategy which could led to a well-organized city, and therefore he will have to think wisely to
find the best solution and strategy to build the city.
By way of conclusion, taking all aforementioned arguments into account, I am of the view that
computer games are an effective way to teach new materials to children and, if enough
precaution if exerted, they will have constructive effects on children and they should be allowed
to play them.