Dancing plays an important role in a culture. Do you agree with the statement or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Culture is the characteristics and the knowledge of a group of people in a community which defines by cuisine, social behaviors, religion, what they wear, how they wear it, how they greet people, how they behave their loved ones, music, art and a million other things. Dancing, as an art form, is a way of communicating, and thus plays an important role in a culture. My arguments for holding this position are that, not only can people express their emotions through dancing but also can present their traditions.

The main reason why I hold this idea about the important role of dancing in a culture is that people express their feelings through organized movements of dancing. There are special dances that are performed during celebrations, and also different dances are carried out during the time of grief. For example, in my country, Iran, there is a specific tribe called Lor, the people in this community have a kind of dancing that is performed when someone is passed on. Therefore, this dance warn a death. As you can see, particular ceremonies goes with particular dances that show the intention of that gathering.

The second reason is that dancing is utilized to manifest special rites within a community. This rituals form a huge part of individual’s culture. For example, American first nations, or so called, red Indians, have different kind of dances and also related music for performing their daily routines like hunting. In a documentary that I once saw, Red Indians were preparing themselves for hunting and they had worn special costumes that had their own special purpose and meaning. For instance, the huge head coverings which had the shape of predetor’s head was used for scaring the prey, and all the process of hunting was accompanied by a unique dance. What I’ve perceived from the mentioned show is that whenever I see this kind of costume and dancing I understand the people are going hunting.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that dancing plays an important role in a culture. Not only are different sentiments conveyed by dancing, but also various rites are performed using dances.