Do you agree with the following statement, government should spend more money on education of young children (5 to 10 years) or spending on universities?

Children in their young age are at a stage where they have the highest grasping power. Furthermore, they are filled with enthusiasm, be it in any field and always ready to absorb knowledge and information of any kind. This results in an overall development of the child and hence I believe that government should spend more on the education of young children.

The first and the most important reason for this is that these are the foundation years for any child and if the base is not strong, then they will have to face problems in the later stages of life. This is the age where a child’s proclivity can be determined and then he/she can be molded according to that. The reason behind the success of most people is that they had a strong base.

Besides that, this is the age where holistic development of a child takes place. Apart from studies there are various other activities which help in developing a child in a different way. For example, if the child is interested in sports then this will develop the ability to make strategic decisions and will learn to become a team player or if the child is more inclined towards dance or some form of art then he/she will be more creative in thinking.

Finally, government should make education free and compulsory for young children. This will ensure that each and every child gets educated. The main reason behind this is that there are children who are smart and capable but are from an economically backward family and thus their parents can’t afford to educate them. Free education or scholarships will help such students a lot.

In conclusion, spending on universities should not be stopped but spending extra funds on the education of young children is more viable because if the foundation is not well built, then the future is surely to be precarious.