Do you agree or disagree Although technology had made communication easier there are still as many misunderstandings among people as there were in the past

There is no doubt that technology has facilitated communication. We can now send text messages and recordings in a fraction of seconds. With the advancement of technology live video calls are also feasible. While this has helped us communicate effectively, it has left room for misunderstandings that are inevitable since there is little to no face to face interaction.

When typing messages instead of communicating them verbally, things such as tone and clarity may not be detected by the writer. Too short a message may seem abrupt and rude, while a long one may cause confusion to the reader. Another example of miscommunication is when someone accidentally types in all caps, giving the impression that they are angry. Misinterpretations such as these can quickly escalate into quarrels and enmity if not handled properly.

Most messaging apps allow us to see if a person received and viewed our message. If the receiver does not reply because they are too busy or the message was marked as read because the app was open, the sender may feel as if they are deliberately being ignored, causing spats amongst people. Another frustrating aspect is the autocorrect feature. Users might send inappropriate or provoking words accidentally, and although they can correct it, if the sender is oblivious of their mistake, the receiver may be hurt or offended.

All in all, while technology has eased communication over long distances, it has the drawback of creating misunderstandings. Miscommunication is still common as they were before the advent of technology, though the nature and cause of these misunderstandings are quite different.