Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All jobs should provide some opportunity for physical exercise. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that workplaces should offer opportunities for physical exercise to their employees, and I am among those who strongly support this statement. For the past couple of years, there has been an increased emphasis on employee health and well-being, therefore it is expected that all companies provide appropriate facilities to their staff.

To begin with, most jobs nowadays are sedentary, which means that employees have to sit and work hours upon hours. This has a negative impact on health, such as causing fatigue and pain as well as weight gain and its associated problems in the long term. Employee health should be of utmost importance and if steps are not taken to ensure their health, companies can face problems such as complaints, strikes, high turnover rate, and in dire cases, legal action. Therefore, it is necessary for workers to be able to move about to reduce the chances of such issues.

Furthermore, there is scientific proof that people need to move around after an hour or so of working to increase flow of oxygen to the brain. This helps improve attention span, gives them a break from work and keeps them motivated. A better work environment would mean better performance by employees. Google is the epitome of a company striving to ensure their employees well-being. They have offices with large spaces for movement as well as gyms, exercise classes and swimming pools. This, amongst other reasons, is why people dream of working at Google

In short, companies should aim to provide means of physical exercise for their employees. This could include gyms, areas to move freely, swimming pools or yoga classes. Whatever the method, the health of their employees should be the first priority of all companies. Not only are organizations legally required to guarantee their staff’s well-being, but by providing breaks for physical exercise can improve company performance as well as an individual’s job satisfaction.