Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that history has a lot of stories to learn from them. There has always been a controversial debate on whether all the university students should take history courses or it is essential just for history students. As far as I am concerned I tend to support the former view and I have this idea for many reasons. I will discuss this subject from social and economic perspectives hereunder.

First and foremost, studying history can teach us lessons by which many social problems can readily be prevented. There is no doubt that history is repeating all the time. If we look at the history of the world carefully, we can understand that people always make the same mistakes that many kings or queens have made throughout the history. Take king Ahmad for example. The last king of the succession “Ghajar” that finished their kingdom by his mistakes. He spent all the money of the country for his own joy and did not use his advisors’ experiences. Consequently, the country became so weak that by the invasion of the enemy at that time, he could not resist and escaped to a foreign country. There is no need to explain how much harm the country confronted at his time. Although Iran had the experience of king Ahmad, the next kingdom “Pahlavi” did exactly what he did. So the country faced a big revolution and consequently an eight-year war between Iran and Iraq which not only did hurt people at that time but also hurt future generations. Therefore, it can be realized that by studying and paying attention to historical stories, many social problems, like what was mentioned before, can be precluded.

Another reason which worth some words here is the financial perspective of studying history. It may seem surprising at the first glance to look at the history this way but as recent studies have shown, financial models used by some ancient governments is so perfect that even can be useful these days. Take king Koroush for instance as an illustration for this reason. One of the most famous king of Iran who has his reputation because of his justice and successful economic strategy. His kingdom is the richest kingdom in the whole Iran’s history. Even though it is thousands of years passed of his time, Iranian started to apply his strategies to their economic structure many years ago which improved their financial situation surprisingly that could not be achieved never before during the modern time. consequently, it is essential for all the student, not only the history students, to take history courses in order to learn from them and apply their positive strategies in their own field of study.

All in all, I am convinced that due to the reasons mentioned before and many others, all the students should take some courses of history and pay attention to them to learn its precious experiences which can improve the society in all aspects.