Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to help with household tasks as soon as they are able to do so.

Upon the question should children be required to help with household tasks as soon as they are able to do so, different people have different opinions based on their emotion, education, culture, etc. From my point of view, assigning various tasks to young children has many advantages. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, children will learn how to cooperate with other family members effectively. Parents should distribute different tasks to different children. For example, when I was about seven years old, I had to vacuum my brother’s room and he was responsible to help me do my homework. So that we found new ways to cooperate with each other. Besides, I established good relationship with him and learnt how to communicate with my older brother easily and in a more convenient way.

In the second place, performing household tasks make children become responsible persons in the future. In my opinion, mothers should require their children to wash their dirty dishes. So that children will learn responsibility. Another advantage of requiring children to perform household tasks is that they will learn how to behave toward other people. For example my younger sister had to go to grocery and buy necessary things like bread. In my point of view, before this requirement, she was a shy girl but now she is an outgoing person and she is able to communicate with strangers.

Last but not least, doing several household tasks will increase their self-confidence. In my point of view, when young children complete their jobs perfectly, it has positive effects on their minds and they will find out they are able to perform assigned tasks without any difficulty.

Taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, it can be concluded that children should be required to help with household tasks because it has several benefits for them which I outlined above.