Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are many things that impact a child’s success in school, especially their parents and their classmates. Some people think that classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. But others do not agree. However, I think that classmates are a more important influence than parents because children spend more time with their classmate than with parents. Classmates are the same age and understand each other.

Firstly, classmates are a necessary influence because children spend more time with their classmates than with their parents. Children spend a lot of time studying at school and communicating with their classmates. On the other hand, after school, children return from school and stay with their parents. But, at that time, they have to study and do their homework while their parents are busy with their own work. So, they can not spend much time to teach their children.

Secondly, classmates are the ones who understand more about their studies at school. For example, if they get a good mark or a bad mark, all the students in the class will know about it. Therefore, someone in their class can help them improve their score. On the contrary, sometimes, some parents did not know about their children’s marks so that they can help their children out.

Finally, children and their classmates are at the same age, so they are more likely to have the same interests. For example, both my nephew and his best friend like to study math so they often figure out a hard exercise together.

In addition, Children tend to easily communicate and play with kids in the same age group as them. They can share secrets that they might not tell their parents or their experience with studying.

In conclusion, I think classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. I believe this because they are in the same age group, understand each other, and spend lots of time together.